Recording/Copying ITV Player from Channel 4

Having trouble with your Linux system?

Boo - Chromium won't play 4OD at all ...

Postby reactiv8 » Mon Nov 28, 2016 9:35 pm

Thanks for your help @Rhakios, but Chromium takes me back to the same problem as with Firefox :? :~

Image

Meanwhile, Chrome just 'stalls' or seems to keep buffering ...

BTW - My monitor is an ancient Hanns-G 28" 1920 x 1200, but it works just fine for me !!!

I won't give up, but perhaps enough for tonight ...

Ho hum,
Chris.
“If you want to tell people the truth, make them laugh, otherwise they'll kill you.”
― Oscar Wilde, 'The Nightingale and the Rose'
User avatar
reactiv8
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 6:24 pm
Location: The Marches - Herefordshire-Powys border

Re: Recording/Copying ITV Player from Channel 4

Postby Rhakios » Tue Nov 29, 2016 2:48 pm

Well yes, Chromium won't have Pepperflash (or whatever it's called) built in. No idea why Chrome would stall on 4od though. Does it do so for other programmes, or just that one?
Rhakios
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 7:00 pm

Neither Chrome or Chromium will work ... Hidemyass VPN

Postby reactiv8 » Sun Dec 04, 2016 4:16 pm

Sadly Chrome 'stalls' on everything ... Chromium won't work even with Pepperflash installed ...

'Ironically' my friend in Norway using Hidemyass VPN can watch some programmes on 4OD but not The Stones and a few others ...

Ho hum etc ...

Chris,
“If you want to tell people the truth, make them laugh, otherwise they'll kill you.”
― Oscar Wilde, 'The Nightingale and the Rose'
User avatar
reactiv8
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 6:24 pm
Location: The Marches - Herefordshire-Powys border

Re: Recording/Copying ITV Player from Channel 4

Postby Rhakios » Sun Dec 04, 2016 6:05 pm

Having had a look at 4OD on my Linux box (Mint 18, Firefox), what's really weird is that it tells me that I need Flash installed...
... but I have Flash disabled by default and the browser prompts me to enable it on any site requiring Flash. But on 4OD that doesn't happen. What's stupider is that some of the clips available play with the html5 player. Ho hum.
Rhakios
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 7:00 pm

Disabling Flash ???

Postby reactiv8 » Tue Dec 06, 2016 7:57 am

Thanks @Rhakios

Where do you disable Flash pretty please ???

I might get there (eventually) :roll:

Chris.
“If you want to tell people the truth, make them laugh, otherwise they'll kill you.”
― Oscar Wilde, 'The Nightingale and the Rose'
User avatar
reactiv8
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 6:24 pm
Location: The Marches - Herefordshire-Powys border

Re: Recording/Copying ITV Player from Channel 4

Postby Rhakios » Tue Dec 06, 2016 3:41 pm

In Firefox? Tools>Add-ons>Plugins then you can set Shockwave Flash to "Ask to Activate" or "Never Activate".
For me, it has the benefit that on sites which use both html5 and Flash, my browser defaults to the html5 player, which I have found causes less instability. Sometimes Flash's instability can be shocking <pun intended>.
Rhakios
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 7:00 pm

Disabled Shockwave Flash in Firefox - No go ...

Postby reactiv8 » Wed Dec 07, 2016 11:19 am

Disabled Shockwave Flash (Ask to Activate) in Firefox - Still doesn't work - Same error message as before 'This video requires Adobe Flash Player' ...

Can't see where to disable Flash in Chrome or Chromium ...

Reminds me why I hate Adobe Flash - Ho hum etc ...

Thanks anyway @Rhakios ...

Chris.
“If you want to tell people the truth, make them laugh, otherwise they'll kill you.”
― Oscar Wilde, 'The Nightingale and the Rose'
User avatar
reactiv8
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 6:24 pm
Location: The Marches - Herefordshire-Powys border

Re: Recording/Copying ITV Player from Channel 4

Postby Rhakios » Wed Dec 07, 2016 3:57 pm

Indeed, so it's obviously not one of those available in html5. Perhaps it has something to do with DRM protection.
Rhakios
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 7:00 pm

Re: Recording/Copying ITV Player from Channel 4

Postby Rhakios » Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:51 pm

While looking to upgrade to Mint 18.1, I stumbled across this, which looks to be the only way to get the DRM/Flash content from 4OD to work on Linux.
Rhakios
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 7:00 pm

Previous

Return to Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron