New Contact Photo in Android

Chat about life, Linux and free software

New Contact Photo in Android

Postby johnlane » Tue Jan 26, 2016 2:11 pm

I added a new contact number into my Android phone and a photo appeared for it. I only keyed in the number and a name, no photo. I'm puzzled how this happened. I did send a SMS to the contact after adding it and I don't know if the photo appeared before or after doing that. It is a new number that I've never used before and the photo that appeared isn't one that was already on my phone. I was unaware that contact photos were transmitted with SMS messages.

Can anyone shed any light on how this works...?
johnlane

Re: New Contact Photo in Android

Postby Rhakios » Tue Jan 26, 2016 8:45 pm

It can happen if that number is linked to a Google+ profile, or anything else the owner of the number might have of Google's.
Pictures representing several of my contacts have changed over the years as they have changed the picture they associate with their profile. It doesn't require or get any intervention on my part.
Rhakios

Postby johnlane » Thu Jan 28, 2016 9:37 am

Ahh yes that looks like what has happened.

So when you enter a number into your contacts, Google snoops it and sucks it onto their servers so they can add it to their database (err, I mean look up and serve the photo). There's another reason to get Google off the phone...
johnlane

Postby Rhakios » Thu Jan 28, 2016 9:41 pm

Weeeell, assuming you have the default back-up settings, all your information is carried on their servers anyway, so that any new device you get can be set up automagically with all your preferred settings and information.
As for the other bit, I'm sure they would regard linking information they have as a feature. I assume they already have your new contact's number, which is how they could link it to a profile picture.
Rhakios

Postby mickburkesnr » Fri Jan 29, 2016 7:50 am